# EXTRACT FROM THE CANONS OF THE CHURCH OF ENGLAND (see Canon C8, page 88) Churches in communion with the Church of England

The term 'Churches in communion with the Church of England' may be taken to include the following Churches:

# (a) All member Churches and extra-provincial dioceses of the Anglican Communion, including united Churches which incorporate former Anglican Churches:

#### Member Churches

Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia

Anglican Church of Australia

Episcopal Anglican Church of Brazil

Episcopal Church of Burundi

Anglican Church of Canada

Church of the province of Central Africa

Anglican Church of the Central America Region

Anglican Church of the Congo

Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui

Church of the province of the Indian Ocean

Church of Ireland

Anglican Communion in Japan

Episcopal Church in Jerusalem and the Middle East

Anglican Church of Kenya

Anglican Church of Korea

Church of the province of Melanesia

Anglican Church of Mexico

Church of the province of Myanmar (Burma)

Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion)

Anglican Church of Papua New Guinea

Episcopal Church in the Philippines

Episcopal Church of Rwanda

Scottish Episcopal Church

Church of the province of South East Asia

Church of the province of Southern Africa

Anglican Church of the Southern Cone of America

Episcopal Church of the Sudan

Anglican Church of Tanzania

Church of the province of Uganda

Episcopal Church in the United States of America

Church in Wales

Church of the province of West Africa

Church in the province of the West Indies

### Extra-Provincial Dioceses

Church of Bermuda

Anglican Church in Ceylon (Sri Lanka)

Church of Cuba

Lusitanian Church of Portugal

Reformed Episcopal Church of Spain

Falkland Islands Jurisdiction

The Anglican Church in Venezuela

**Episcopal Church of Puerto Rico** 

#### <u>United Churches incorporating Former Anglican Dioceses</u>

Church of Bangladesh

Church of North India

Church of South India

Church of Pakistan

# (b) The Old Catholic Churches of the Union of Utrecht:

Old Catholic Church in the Netherlands

Catholic Diocese of the Old Catholics in Germany

Christian Catholic Church of Switzerland

Old Catholic Church of Austria

Old Catholic Church of the Czech Republic

Polish National Catholic Church (USA)

Polish National Catholic Church (Poland)

Old Catholic Church of Croatia

# (c) Philippine Independent Church

## (d) Mar Thoma Syrian Church of Malabar

# (e) Nordic and Baltic Lutheran Churches which have approved the Porvoo Declaration. To date, these are:

Evangelical-Lutheran Church of Finland\*

Evangelical-Lutheran Church of Iceland

Church of Norway\*

Church of Sweden\*

Estonian Evangelical-Lutheran Church\*

Evangelical-Lutheran Church of Lithuania

\*indicates Churches with congregations in England.

The advice contained in this note is given in good faith, but does not constitute a definitive ruling. Rule 54(5) of the Church Representation Rules provides that "if any question arises whether a Church is in communion with the Church of England, it shall be conclusively determined for the purposes of these rules by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York". Section 6(2) of the Overseas and Other Clergy (Ministry and Ordination) Measure 1967 makes a similar provision.

## **Church membership**

The Archbishops of Canterbury and York have issued the following short guide to the duties of church membership.

"All baptized and confirmed members of the Church must play their full part in its life and witness. That you may fulfil this duty you are called upon:

To follow the example of Christ in home and daily life and to bear witness to Him.

To be regular in private prayer day by day.

To read the Bible carefully.

To come to Church every Sunday.

To receive the Holy Communion faithfully and regularly.

To give personal service to Church, neighbours and community.

To uphold the standard of marriage entrusted by Christ to His Church.

To care that children are brought up to love and serve the Lord."